Whey or Vegan protein? Common question. Both are good for you, it’s just that whey comes from dairy sources, whereas vegan comes from you guessed it…vegetables. You can get the same amount of grams of protein per serving no matter which type of protein you use, but the quality will most likely be different. Here’s why.
Proteins are made up of molecules called amino acids which are used to accomplish lots of things in the body like building muscle, providing energy, helping digestion, and boosting your immune system. Some amino acids are what we call essential, meaning they must come from your diet because your body cannot make them (i.e leucine, tryptophan). Non essential amino acids like glutamine, are made within your body, independent of the foods you eat.. Whey protein, and other animal proteins contain all 9 essential amino acids, while plant based proteins do not.
If you’re ok with eating meat and dairy, your decision is easy: go for the whey protein. If you are lactose intolerant, or averse to eating animal products you will prefer a vegan source of protein. Vegans and vegetarians can get adequate amino acids from veggies, you just have to be a little more creative, and mindful of the amino acid profiles of your protein sources. For example, if your goal is building muscle, then you need to make sure you’re getting enough of the amino acid leucine. You can get this from wheat and beans, but you would need to consume a lot! When purchasing a protein powder supplement, the amino acid profile of your protein powder should be listed on the back of the package so you can make an
If you need a great protein powder to supplement your food intake, try one of the two below: